Summer Review


Began a new fast today.

It’s been a difficult summer. I didn’t veer from my main eating goals: eating less, low carb, high protein, low (salad dressings) or no refined carbs or sugar, no wheat, grains, and rare uses or brown rice.

Discovered that my favorite Chinese food (glass noodles) is actually low carb, made from mung beans, not wheat or rice. (Yay!!!) Also that Kind Bars and ThinkThin Bars are both high in protein, contain no sugar, and are bloody fantastic!

My salads got more elaborate and I’m beginning to read all the cookbooks I own because I’m getting bored with just baked chicken and broccoli with cheese.

I wasn’t perfect, of course. Popeye’s chicken proved to be the Devil. They have a special on Tuesdays and Thursdays where they sell a leg and thigh for 99 cents and since their chicken is sooooo much better than the Colonel’s, I’m afraid the nice Indian lady that runs the Popeye’s near me, knows me by name! What!? It’s protein and no carb, so I ate it.

And it was gooood!

My food choices are evolving, but I’m not going backwards (No, Popeyes isn’t really a step backwards!). After seven months, I’ve managed to do that lifestyle change thing without loosing my freakin mind.

I’m pretty proud of myself about that.

Now, if only I’d get my ass up and move!

I hate exercising. Hate is too sedate a word. I loathe, detest, despise, abhor, and am fully repulsed by the thought of exercising.

I also hate that I hate it. The worst part of this is that my body freakin loves it! It responds so well that it doesn’t even take a week for me to adjust and I have to increase the intensity. A gift of my mother I suppose. She’s the one with the great muscle tone and I am rather blessed to have inherited it. So, my body is resigned to it, but my head isn’t.

What the hell am I supposed to do?

I guess, like everything else, I’ll figure it out.

Talk to you tomorrow. ~vm~

~ by wastedlife40 on September 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
The Obama Diary

President Barack Obama ... photos, videos & a word or two

