Music that’s got my attention…


lauraI’ve been on a tear lately to listen only to music that makes me feel good. Now, that might sound like a strange declaration because we all assume that is the goal of every person listening to music is the pleasure of the sound. No, that is not always true. Your choice of music most often reflects your mood. However, I am looking for the music to deflect my mood. I require a carefully crafted list of songs that will leave me lighter, more mellow than when I first began listening. Laura Izibor’s debut album, “Let The Truth Be Told” does just that.

A phenomenal singer/songwriting talent, Laura is considered a prodigy in her native Ireland having won several awards for music before she turned eighteen. While I love her lyrics and musical styling choices, it’s the tone of her voice that I really love. As a singer myself, I’m always intrigued with uniquely interesting voices. Jill Scott, Macy Grey, M’Shell Ndegeocello, and the great Whitney Houston all share this honor to me. Voices that force you to listen to every intonation and cadence, no matter the lyric, are just amazing.

Laura Izibor has crafted an album of incredibly catchy, instantly memorable songs, some of which you may have heard and not even known it was her. Her song “Shine” ran along the end credits of the movie The Nanny Diaries. “From My Heart To Yours” was featured in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy. And the song that hipped me to her, “Mmmm,” was not only in “Step Up 2: The Streets”, but also Will Smith’s movie “Seven Pounds” and Tyler Perry’s “Why Did I Get Married.”

I have my favorite tracks of course (I’m obsessed with “Perfect World”) but I feel her work is better experienced by letting the entire album play. I make sure to do that at least once a day and surprisingly, I discover something new in the music everytime. Laura Izibor is a great new talent and I can’t wait to hear much, much more.

~ by wastedlife40 on August 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
The Obama Diary

President Barack Obama ... photos, videos & a word or two

